Yesterday, I met up with my friend Jennifer who you may know as the foodie writing  for The Aggie last quarter. We actually met in a journalism class with Gary Goodman, where we both discovered the joys of writing and decided to minor in it. I chose Cloud Forest Cafe for lunch because my friend Saher and roommate Melanie both recommended the cafe’s panini’s to me. I love any opportunity to use a coupon from my Campus Special booklet. It’s located in downtown on 222 D St. between 2nd and 3rd.

Nice outdoor area to eat and observe the passersby.

I ordered The Cloud Forest Panini, #1 on the menu.

I’m not much of a coffee person so I love they offer fresh juice and smoothies. I heard their orange juice is the best so I’ll probably get the Davis Sunshine next time.

Also, I love Italian sodas! But only with half and half. The first time I ever had an Italian soda it came with half and half and every time afterwards I’d be very confused when it didn’t. You must try it if you haven’t.

The space is very open and looks like a prime study spot.

I always appreciate when places showcase local artists work – especially photography.

They have free wi-fi but I wonder how they regulate the 2 hour limit. I imagine they let it slide if there are empty tables. This would be the only reason I would not come to study.

They roast their own beans which you can purchase.

There’s also pastries to go with your coffee from Village Bakery.

Jennifer ordered The Villager with potato salad.

The sandwich was so delicious I lost my concentration listening to Jennifer and had to pause our conversation just to focus on eating. I swear avocado makes the world go round. Avocado and garlic pesto. Not to mention focaccia bread is my favorite. That and ciabatta bread which both are the only options for sandwiches. Focaccia bread absorbs the spreads much better which makes each bite flavorful. Definitely going back again! Have you been here? What’s your favorite thing to order?